1-3-13 or the Lost Markets of the Valley

On the 13th I went out on my usual Sunday run.  I decided to change up the routine and check out some of the more obscure markets around here.

1. Wesmer Flea Market

I started at the Mercedes Flea Market or the “Wesmer” market as it is sometimes called.  It shares the same name as the old Drive-In Theater across the road from it.  Both these locations are placed on the border between Weslaco and Mercedes, hence the name.

Its a small market but it has been known to hold the occasional treasure.  It costs only $0.25 to get in so it’s good price for what it has.

It doesn’t look like anything special with market stalls just like the other Flea Markets.

One thing this place does have the other markets don’t is a Pavilion that they use for their local bands and other small events they hold there.  It’s also good for keeping out of the rain.  This is great because it contains the music to a single area which keeps the noise to a minimum while still allowing the ambient music to still reach the rest of the market.

I looked around the market and saw pretty much the same stuff that I had scene before.  The vendors there that I knew had very little to offer with nothing new to entice me.  I went through the whole market and found nothing to take home.  Time to move on.

2.  Weslaco Flea Market

I moved on, heading back in the direction of home.  I stopped off in Weslaco to check out some local stores to see what I could find.  Nothing special was around but there was the Weslaco Indoor Flea Market.

I had visited this place many times before but there was never anything especially great.  It has all the kitschy crap you find in all the other markets with only the rare vendor who has something special.  It’s much like the Bargain Bazaar in McAllen, in which has all the same people selling the exact same thing day after day.

As it happens I did see something that interested me.  A vendor was selling antique metal signs along with some video game merchandise.  He had a metal Silver Surfer sign for sale that I wanted.  Unfortunately, he wanted $12 for it.  He was willing to selling it for $10 if I bought two or more signs.  One of the things I hate about these places is that they never haggle.  They are consistent sellers for their merchandise and might as well be a dollar store or mini-mart.  I passed on the sign but took heart that it was very likely that the sign would be there for a while.

3.  Donna Flea Market

Or the “Fiesta” Flea Market as it says on the sign.  As I left Weslaco I decided to make a last stop in Donna to see if there was anything at the Flea Market there.  Like the Wesmer its only open on Sundays and I have found a few treasures there before so I was praying that I would get lucky after having such a lousy day.

There was not much there even for the time I got there.  The weather wasn’t great but it seemed like nobody wanted to be there.  I made a quick run through which didn’t even take Five Minutes.  I found nothing.  Nada.  Zip.  It had been quite a while since I struck out at one of the Flea Markets let alone Three.  Guess it had to happen sometime.  At least I got the experience of going and documenting the trip so as I could share it with all you nice people.

So, there you have it.  I will be posting what I found at the Alamo Market this past Sunday soon so keep an eye out for that.  Till next time!

Leave a Reply

