12/30/31 – 23rd St. Pulga

On this occasion I went to flea market on 23rd st.  It had been a while since I had gone out and wanted to get back into the rotation and mix things up.

It was a good haul and I even found a few things that I wanted but could not either afford or figured I could go back for later.  Here’s what I found.

1.  Samuel Adams Boston Lager Perfect Pint Glass

I had been searching for one of these pint glasses for a long time.  I’m a big Sam Adams fan and when they introduced their new pint glasses with the “special design” built in, I knew I had to have one.

I came across it completely by random chance finding it in a cardboard box full of junk.  As I had mentioned before, the 23rd street pulga is a place where you have to get your hands dirty and rummage through things in order to find treasure.  Since beer glasses are one of my new collection items I always keep my eye out for glass items.

I couldn’t believe my eyes when I pulled out the exact glass I had been looking for.  It was in great condition without any scratched or chipping but I noticed that it was missing the trademark etchings that made this glass so keen.  I decided to get it anyways since I’m a Sam’s fan and it cost me a dollar to take it home.

After some research I found out that it was indeed the correct glass that I had been looking for which sells for $30 for a pack of four from the company direct but was a factory reject that was sold off in smaller quantities to bargain websites, promotional offers, etc.  All in all, a good find for a great bargain and I still get to look for the special glass in the process.

2.  Star Wars Books and Manga

I always like looking for new books at pulga but it’s rare that the plebs in my area will sell them.  Most people throw out what they don’t use but I can’t really blame them.  There are so few books stores here and most of them will not take in used books.  Oh ‘Hastings’, how I miss you…

I stumbled upon a small mob of people rummaging through some boxes around a lady and her family.  I saw that they were books but not the usual kind.  They tended to be large, flat and colorful but I thought I should check em out anyway.

Turns out the boxes were full of school supplies and books for children.  It was probably surplus from a school; the lady did look like a teacher.  I saw that there were some Lego books so I started there and went through every box.  I found these Star Wars Lego books, a Warcraft manga and couple of Star Wars Blueprint books!  I made sure that they were all clean and in good condition.  The Lego books were missing the bonus figures that were supposed to come with them but that’s to be expected.  The blueprint books came with bonus fold-outs and I made sure to find them and stick them inside the books.

Total cost for all the books combined?  $3.

3.  Star Wars Baseball Cap

Baseball caps are everywhere around here and are quite cheap.  Problem is finding one that has something special about it.  I have managed to find a few cool ones here and there but this one has been the best so far.

I was on my way out when I found this hat tucked away in a back stall.  It cost me only a dollar but it wasn’t till I got it home that I learned that it was too small for my head.  Basically, it’s a kid’s/teen’s hat.  Still a good find and would make a great gift to a young Star Wars fan.

4.  Pony Figures

I found these two ponies at different stalls.  One was a blind bag Rarity I got for $.50 and the other is a larger rubber Pinkie Pie that I think may be a bath toy as she can blow bubbles if you squeeze her.  She was $1.

5.  Captain Rex AT-TE Transformer

I found this transformer on my way back to the car.  It was in good shape and still in its blister pack.  There were no instructions or packaging so I wasn’t sure what character it was exactly until I got it home and researched it.  This is what it was.

Turned out it was one of the Captain Rex transformers and was pretty easy to transform even without the instructions.  Got him for $2.

Leave a Reply

